Silence

Each time discomfort gnaws at your innards when confronted with your own powerlessness, resist.

As a survivor  one of the biggest problems I’ve had to deal with is containing all of the abuse inside of myself.

This has meant that those who have wronged me get to live comfortably while I carry all the weight of what has been done within myself.  This has meant that I suffer and they suffer nothing, they sleep like kittens at night knowing that anything they had done couldn’t have been too bad because well, I let them live without disruption.

Do not be like I have been, and continue to be to a very large degree.

When something is wrong, speak out.

Its the tiniest protestations that amount to a sea of swollen consciousness.

5 responses to “Silence

  1. This has meant that those who have wronged me get to live comfortably while I carry all the weight of what has been done within myself. This has meant that I suffer and they suffer nothing, they sleep like kittens at night knowing that anything they had done couldn’t have been too bad because well, I let them live without disruption.

    This, for me, is always the fucking hardest thing to deal with. Knowing that you have to struggle every god-damned day to do just about, well, anything, and these fuckers are off in lalaland with the fairies doing whatever hedonistic bullshit they’ve dreamed up this time. That’s why radical feminism is so important because we can connect, know we’re not alone and grow from the bullshit together.

    When something is wrong, speak out.

    Its the tiniest protestations that amount to a sea of swollen consciousness.

    Is why blogs like yours (or mine, even) are so important, (imho) because they put that righteous rage out there for other womyn to see, hear, remember and rage themselves.

    Hope this makes sense, but thank you so much for posting this.

    • Thank you. People assume that women aren’t angry because we’re silent. Silence is where we comfort ourselves as individuals while we look for our voice.

      I know other women have helped me find mine just by saying something.

      • Exactly, silence shouldn’t be taken for instant non/compliance either. It’s the silence that allows us to think, to formulate, to create.

        “I know other women have helped me find mine just by saying something.”

        You and me both!

  2. Thanks sooo much for this post. Thank you thank you thank you!

Leave a Reply

