Men are/not oppressed

When the very heavy topic of women’s oppression is raised, particularly in the context of an oppressed woman trying to communicate that to a man who is skeptical at best its acknowledged, but only in a subtle manner.

What I commonly hear, after dragging a thought process out for far too long is “yes women are oppressed but men are also oppressed”.

I’m going to go through explaining the difference between oppression in terms of sex and oppression in general.

We have to look at our society now in terms of social class.  Women and men are two distinct social classes in our society.  Men as a social class are not oppressed for being male.  Women however, are.

Men can experience oppression, in fact the majority of men on this planet do face some kind of institutionalized oppression, often alongside women.  But they do not suffer the sexual oppression that women do.  A man may be suffering from every disadvantage and belong to every other marginalized grouping of people on the planet and he remains male, and as such will not face the oppression that women do.

So yes, men, I acknowledge there are various ways in which you can be marginalized and oppressed as individuals, but as men you are not.  You have privilege in that one area of life.

What freaks me out is that a person can be so argumentative about whether or not women are oppressed, and yet pull at the end of an argument when denial is no longer an option, the “yeah but men experience bad stuff too”.  If its so obvious that women faced these problems on a societal level, why have we been arguing to begin with?

Its that kind of willful sidestepping of any legitimate grievance that women have about their experiences as women that shows the nature of just how deep the socialization goes.

18 responses to “Men are/not oppressed

  1. What’s the opposite of oppressed?

    I really don’t see where men are ‘oppressed’ in our society. I believe the child custody debate is actually an example on women’s oppression – society forces upon women the roles of “natural” caretakers.

    What other complaints do they have? I just don’t see any valid ones.

    • Hmm… I kind of rambled on my blog about the only sensible way in which I see men being oppressed. Well, not oppressed but the sort of oppressor mentality that’s forced into men.

      I’m basically talking about straight guys kissing each other.

  2. I am still not into this whole thing on either side, but I guess my two cents won’t hurt. I would disagree with you on the whole idea that men are not oppressed on the basis of their sex. I am not going to play the game of which sex is more oppressed, but I am going to say a few things. We have men that cannot report instances of domestic violence and rape because of the pressure on men. War and chivalry are probably other examples of the negative impact the gender roles have on men.

    While I am in complete disagreement with the stance you mentioned, I do see the flaws of pointing this out when you look at the context of the anti-feminist perspective. They try to say that feminism is irrelevant for this reason. Correct me if I am wrong, but all of the things that I mentioned would still be part of gender oppression(along with another theory that I would rather not say). By attempting to discredit your stance, they manage to give it more credibility. With the history and sociology that women had to endure, I can see why feminists would focus on women. If your opposition wants to (unknowingly)give more proof to your points by talking about the oppression of men in the current system, I guess that works.

  3. “What freaks me out is that a person can be so argumentative about whether or not women are oppressed, and yet pull at the end of an argument when denial is no longer an option, the “yeah but men experience bad stuff too”. ”

    This always shits me, cos to me it shows that they
    a) don’t listen to womyn
    b) don’t care about womyn
    c) are really just about protecting their privilege

    All this “oppressive” shit men have to deal with is really just facets of their privilege.

    @tookijambi

    They have none, so they like to steal those from womyn and think ‘ohhno, what about poor little me’

  4. As long as men assert their privilege and fail to recognize it, there will be feminism. Men need to get real and see their privilege.

    I’m privileged as a white women. What does that mean to know this? Well it means I’m conscious of it and won’t use it to devalue the ideas of those who don’t have white privilege. It means I can live in this society as an equal.

    The first step to freedom is the recognition that some have more than others.

  5. @ thestranger1

    “We have men that cannot report instances of domestic violence and rape because of the pressure on men TO NOT BE LIKE WOMEN because that is degrading to us.” There. Fixed that for you.

    War: How the hell long would patriarchy last if WOMEN were the designated warrior class? Christ! Think for a minute!

    Chivalry oppresses men? You’ve got to be kidding me. (Men are oppressed by holding doors for women. Dear Dog.) But you’re not kidding, so I’ll answer anyway. What are the consequences of failing to hold a door? Honor killing? Losing a jobs or promotions (because you know women control 90% of the property in the world. Oh, wait! They don’t!) ? Beatings? Realistically, not getting laid as often by women with princess complexes. Such a pity.

  6. Men are disadvantaged by virtue of being male. They commit suicide more often, have shorter lifespan, are more likely to be homeless, are far more likely to lose their lives as a result of their jobs, are far more likely to be murdered etc. etc.

    There are advantages to being a man and advantages to being a woman. You can dispute the distribution of advantages, but instead you bitter, twisted radfems huddle together in your common neuroses, possibly because of your life experiences, and convince yourselves that all advantages accrue to men.

    There’s not going to be a radical feminist revolution because most of you are mental health casualties and your whinging just pisses people off. The personal is definitely political, in the sense that your personal mental obsessions have got channelled into your political stances. Either overcome your own suffering or continue being demented crybabies.

    • Seems like your issues with women are worse than mine with men dude.

      • Haha! I like how I had not one bad word to say about women in my post, plenty of bad things to say about radfems, and the inference you make (naturally!) is I have issues with women. Not just that, but I have MORE issues with them than YOU have with men, a group who you DO habitually bad mouth!

        Could it be I can have issues with radfems without having issues with women in general? Women are fine, I like them, they’re generally less pig-headed than men. It’s radfems that make me laugh and roll my eyes, and funnily enough, they often have the same effect on women!

      • Also, isn’t it funny how he doesn’t realise that radical feminists ARE womyn?

    • And yet womyn are more likely to attempt suicide, to be murdered by their partners etc etc.
      What was your point again?
      Oh right.
      You’re someone with nothing better to do than sit around and leave fail comments on the internetz.

  7. “You’re someone with nothing better to do than sit around and leave fail comments on the internetz.”

    We’re not so different then. =) BTW I said I didn’t hate women, I can’t speak about womyn, is that like some kind of druidic hedge fairy?

  8. Do I routinely badmouth men? I’d be very interested in knowing how I’ve contributed to the great pain that teh menz seem to condescend to feel.

  9. “I’d be very interested in knowing how I’ve contributed to the great pain that teh menz seem to condescend to feel.”

    You haven’t. Scarcely few men on this planet are going to give a fuck what you have to say about them.

    Here’s something you might get though. It’s possible to badmouth somebody (i.e. disparage them), without them giving a fuck and without you causing them any “great pain”!

    And what follows from that?

    Why, that means that asking somebody to prove you’re badmouthing by asking them to prove if you’re causing great pain is actually talking about two different things. You can badmouth without causing great pain! WOW.

    I’m done here. You people either are actually fucking retarded or just too fruity to think properly.

    • oh mah god, dude came in and unleashed all his dudely knowledge yet I’m still too fucking retarded and/or fruity to think properly.

      Littlest violin in the world weeps for teh mhenz.

  10. Yeah, I really give a shit about d00d-problemz. NOT.

Leave a Reply

